Sunday in Dulwich

Visiting Dulwich has been on my list for a while. It’s not far from where I live and the pretty streets and multiple parks caught my eye ages ago when I ran through them on a random run from Southwark to Norwood Junction. It was a great decision!

We jumped on the train and arrived about 12.20, heading straight for breakfast at Brick Street Bakery. It wasn’t the most welcoming of places – it was group seating and the server was pretty unhelpful when I asked about the system for finding seats – but luckily a couple got up from the bar style seating in the window just as we were speaking to her so it wasn’t a problem. On the menu was all day breakfast, grilled cheese and a sandwich and salad of the day plus a few pastries. I went for the grilled cheese and Ben ordered two boiled eggs and soldiers.

We definitely had nothing to complain about foodwise! The grilled cheese was a huge great attack on a plate, with loads of cheese oozing out and spring onions mixed in. Check it out.

image

Ben’s eggs came with about 18 soldiers in fresh toasted sour dough. They were stacked 3 high! I was too full to taste them but he informed me they were good.

image

image

Afterwards we wandered up Lordship Lane. Its lovely and has tonnes of nice shops including an Oliver Bonas and a Picture House cinema! We will definitely be back in the near future.

It was a nice day so we decided to walk partway back to Streatham. It was like walking around one if the villages round where I grew up with quirky cottages, flower filled gardens and pretty much no traffic. I know where I want to live when I grow up!

Leave a Reply

