What I’ve been eating lately

I’ve had a lot going on the last couple of weeks and its been lovely. Lots of catching up with people I haven’t seen in a while and finally sorting out some DIY tasks in my flat. Here’s a post summing up the foodie high points of the last few weeks:

Eating out

Benugo at the BFI

Unlike other Benugo’s which seem to all be sandwich shops, the one at lobby at the British Film Institute on the South Bank is a sit down, fine dining style restaurant. We ended up here during the tube strike a couple of weeks ago as it was halfway between all our stations. It ended up being a perfect place to catch up with friends – nice lighting, unintrusive service, interesting but well priced food and a good (but not overly noisy) atmosphere. I am definitely getting old but its rare in central London to find somewhere you can easily hear what everyone on the table is saying and this was one of those places. The only downside was the super laid back service – we were there for 3 hours which was fine for us as we had a lot to catch up on but would be painful if you’re in a rush.

Arancini Brothers, Old Street

We dropped in here after work as Ben is a big fan of arancini and I’d heard a lot about the branch in Kentish Town. It conspired that we were in the area so we came here for dinner. I had the chicken wrap which was really good, you get a selection of interesting salads plus arancini plus chicken and it is a delicious combination. I think it cost about £6 which was great value. Unfortunately they don’t have a loo (its more of a lunch place) so we had to eat pretty quickly then run to get to somewhere that did. I’m keen to head back at lunch/when we aren’t thinking of our bladders as much!

Talay Thai

We checked out this place on Streatham Hill for dinner last week and it was great. I had Pad Thai and Ben had Thai red curry, both of which compared well to the food we’ve had in Thailand. Service was friendly and very efficient, we were in and out within an hour! Definitely recommended if you’re in the area.

20150828_195639

The Bull

We love the Bull and have visited twice in the last couple of weeks. The first time was for a Sunday roast when my mum and Aunt visited, the second on Bank Holiday Monday with Ben’s family. On the first visit I had the delicious vegetarian wellington which was bursting with mushrooms, vegetables and goats cheese. The second visit I had a halloumi “salad” with friend potatoes and roasted red peppers. The food has been consistently good since the Bull opened and the service is great, we’ll keep going back for some time to come.

20150816_135305

Other things we’ve eaten

Green and black’s cheesecake brownie

We baked this in aid of Ben’s family coming round for afternoon tea. Its the first things I’ve baked in a while and it turned out really well. We’ve frozen a couple to break out next time we need a chocolate fix.

IMG-20150830-WA0001

Choux buns from POP Brixton

I visited Brixton’s new box park with a friend and on a whim picked up two beautiful choux buns to take home for me and Ben. They were the best things I’ve bought in ages and I’m going to try to recreate them soon! At £3 each or £5.50 for two I initially thought they were a little expensive but trust me they were worth it. The orange one is mango and passion fruit which was full of flavour without the passion fruit’s sharpness overpowering it. The other is pistachio and cherry which was my second favourite but still very nice. Unfortunately I didn’t get the name of the place I bought them and can’t find it on google! I will try to go back and write a favourite places in Brixton post in the near future.

20150905_18222920150905_182112

Leave a Reply

