Healthy snacks

I sometimes struggle to come up with healthy snack and resort to the biscuit jar. If you’re anything like me, here are a few ideas to keep your snacking fresh which are easy to keep in the work fridge or your desk drawer:

Rye bread with peanut butter and optional yoghurt

This is leftover from my marathon days when I would always, without fail, have  piece of rye bread toast with peanut butter and dried cranberries the night before a long run. You toast the rye bread, spread on peanut butter then you can mix in some natural yoghurt if you’re feeling adventurous. It sounds strange but gives it a nice, creamy texture. I also sometimes put dried or fresh fruit on top to add a little something sweet.

Chopped fruit with nakd bits and nuts

Simple! Slice up some fruit, I like apple, pair or figs, then add in a few nakd bits (they’re like the bars but tiny versions that come in a small bag) and some nuts. I like to put in salted nuts, I know its bad but it tastes so good!

Raw cheesecake

I’ve been taking in this recipe to work all week: http://poppycross.co.uk/recipes/raw-salted-caramel-cheesecake-from-raw-cured/, and planning to take my own blueberry vanilla mousse (recipe to come) next week.

Healthy snack bars

Nakd bars, trek bars and so on. Easy and reasonably healthy although I try not to go crazy as they give me a massive sugar rush.

Welsh cakes

Ok, not technically healthy but I love them! They’re made with butter and sugar but are less sweet than a cake and I find them very satisfying. I like them best toasted with some peanut butter. Its definitely not traditional but it is delicious.

Bagels

A half or whole bagel (depending on whether I’ve run) with cream cheese, peanut butter, hummus, avocado or a mix of the above never fails to satisfy.

Leave a Reply

